

Swiss Confederation

Press release

Date: 01.07.2016

Taxes retained on behalf of the EU in 2015 amount to CHF 169,3 million

The gross revenue generated from the system of tax retention on interest payments made in Switzerland to EU taxpayers amounted to CHF 169,3 million for the tax year 2015. It was CHF 317 million in 2014.

In compliance with the agreement on the taxation of savings with the European Union (EU), in force since 1 July 2005, a system of tax retention of 20% was imposed from 1 July 2008 and the top rate of 35% has applied since 1 July 2011. 75% of the proceeds are passed to the member states concerned. 25% of the proceeds go to the Confederation, with 10% passed on to the cantons.

The payment deadline for the EU tax retained last year by Swiss paying agents on interest payments to individuals resident in EU member states expired on 31 March 2016. The gross revenue breakdown is as follows: CHF 127 million will be transferred to EU member states, Switzerland's share amounts to CHF 42,3 million. Of this amount, CHF 38,1 million will be transferred to the Confederation, and CHF 4,2 million to the cantons.

In addition, the agreement makes provision for the recipients of interest payments to choose between the system of tax retention and a voluntary declaration to the tax authorities. Overall in 2015, approximately 328'000 declarations were received. The breakdown of these declarations according to each EU country will be published soon on the website of the Federal Tax Administration (FTA) at: https://www.estv.admin.ch/estv/fr/home/internationales-steuerrecht/themen/eu-zinsbesteuerung/orientierungen.html

Individual EU member states' share of the tax retained in 2015:

EU Member State	EU tax retained in CHF
Austria	5'098'981.15
Belgium	3'792'481.18
Bulgaria	320'993.47
Croatia	1'074'820.32
Cyprus	627'792.38
Czech Republic	1'050'131.64
Denmark	432'915.47
Estonia	119'719.79
Finland	442'831.88
France	12'361'915.41
Germany	20'317'071.31
Greece	6'366'919.58
Hungary	1'976'648.32
Ireland	484'886.88
Italy	52'178'995.43
Latvia	115'040.28
Lithuania	138'609.08
Luxembourg	491'055.98
Malta	425'643.81
Netherlands	2'670'877.70
Poland	927'950.04
Portugal	1'807'373.31
Rumania	327'840.54
Slovakia	395'426.36
Slovenia	231'828.72
Spain	4'173'146.26
Sweden	2'151'386.87
United Kingdom	6'488'698.88
Total	126'991'982.04

Further details:

Patrick Teuscher, Head of Communication, Federal Tax Administration FTA Tel. +41 58 464 90 00, media@estv.admin.ch.